50 Things You Didn’t Know About Dark-type Pokémon

List of Dark-type Pokémon facts:

Dark-type Pokémon were introduced in the second generation of Pokémon games, with the release of Pokémon Gold and Silver in 1999.

Dark-type Pokémon are generally associated with evil or villainous characters in the Pokémon universe.

The first Dark-type Pokémon introduced was Murkrow.

In Generation II, Dark-type moves were only super effective against Ghost-type Pokémon. This changed in later generations.

Dark-type Pokémon are immune to Psychic-type moves in Generation II, but not in later generations.

Dark-type moves are super effective against Psychic, Ghost, and other Dark-type Pokémon.

Dark-type moves are not very effective against Fighting, Fairy, and Bug-type Pokémon.

The majority of Dark-type Pokémon have a higher Attack stat than Special Attack.

Darkrai is the only legendary Dark-type Pokémon.

Umbreon is the only Dark-type Pokémon that evolves from an Eevee.

Absol is known as the Disaster Pokémon.

Dark-type Pokémon have been featured in the main series Pokémon games, as well as in the Pokémon Trading Card Game, the Pokémon anime, and various other media.

The Dark type was introduced to balance the Psychic type, which was considered overpowered in the first generation of Pokémon games.

Houndoom is the only Dark/Fire-type Pokémon.

Tyranitar is the only Dark/Rock-type Pokémon.

Scrafty is the only Dark/Fighting-type Pokémon.

Sableye is the only Dark/Ghost-type Pokémon.

Pangoro is the only Dark/Fighting-type Pokémon with the ability Iron Fist.

Yveltal is the only Dark/Flying-type legendary Pokémon.

Dark-type moves are commonly used by the villainous team in the Pokémon games, such as Team Rocket, Team Magma, and Team Plasma.

Dark-type moves can lower the opponent’s stats or cause flinching.

Incineroar is a popular Dark-type Pokémon in competitive play.

Dark-type moves are not affected by the ability Light Screen or Reflect.

Zoroark has the ability Illusion, which allows it to transform into the last Pokémon in the player’s party.

Dark-type moves can also hit Pokémon with the ability Levitate.

In the Pokémon anime, Dark-type Pokémon have been portrayed as being cunning and sly.

Many Dark-type Pokémon have sharp claws or teeth, which are used in battle.

Some Dark-type Pokémon, such as Spiritomb and Hoopa Unbound, have no weaknesses.

Many Dark-type Pokémon have names that reference darkness, night, or evil, such as Sneasel, Weavile, and Malamar.

Dark-type Pokémon are generally considered to be one of the more versatile types in the game, with many different strategies and playstyles available.

Darkrai is known as the Pitch-Black Pokémon and is said to bring nightmares to those who sleep near it.

Sableye is the only Pokémon with the ability Prankster that is not a Fairy-type.

The move Knock Off is a popular Dark-type move that not only deals damage but also removes the opponent’s held item.

The move Foul Play is a unique Dark-type move that uses the opponent’s Attack stat against them.

The move Dark Pulse is a powerful Dark-type move that has a chance of causing the opponent to flinch.

The Pokémon Zorua and Zoroark have the ability to transform into other Pokémon and people using their illusions.

The Pokémon Mandibuzz is based on a vulture and is known as the Bone Vulture Pokémon.

The Pokémon Sharpedo is based on a shark and is known as the Brutal Pokémon.

The Pokémon Hydreigon is based on a three-headed dragon and is known as the Brutal Pokémon.

The Pokémon Krookodile is based on a crocodile and is known as the Intimidation Pokémon.

The Pokémon Scraggy is based on a lizard and is known as the Shedding Pokémon.

The Pokémon Malamar is based on a squid and is known as the Overturning Pokémon.

The Pokémon Bisharp is based on a knight and is known as the Sword Blade Pokémon.

The Pokémon Greninja is a Water/Dark-type and is known as the Ninja Pokémon.

The Pokémon Pangoro is based on a panda and is known as the Daunting Pokémon.

The Pokémon Inkay is based on a squid and is known as the Revolving Pokémon.

The move Torment is a Dark-type move that prevents the opponent from using the same move twice in a row.

The move Taunt is a Dark-type move that forces the opponent to only use damaging moves for a few turns.

The move Snarl is a Dark-type move that not only deals damage but also lowers the opponent’s Special Attack stat.

The move Sucker Punch is a Dark-type move that always goes first, but only if the opponent is using a damaging move.

The Pokémon Purrloin and Liepard are based on cats and are known as the Devious Pokémon.

The Pokémon Incineroar is based on a wrestler and is known as the Heel Pokémon.

The Pokémon Absol is known as the Disaster Pokémon because it appears before natural disasters occur.

The Pokémon Darkrai was featured in its own movie, Pokémon: The Rise of Darkrai.

The Pokémon Spiritomb is a Ghost/Dark-type and is known as the Forbidden Pokémon.

The Pokémon Deino, Zweilous, and Hydreigon are all Dragon/Dark-types and are known as the Brutal Pokémon.

The Pokémon Zoroark was featured in the movie Pokémon: Zoroark: Master of Illusions.

The Pokémon Pangoro has the ability Scrappy, which allows it to hit Ghost-type Pokémon with Normal- and Fighting-type moves.

The Pokémon Mandibuzz has the ability Overcoat, which protects it from damage caused by weather conditions.

The Pokémon Malamar has the ability Contrary, which reverses any stat changes that would normally be applied to it.

chart of the type effectiveness of Dark-type Pokémon:

Effective Against:

  • Ghost-type
  • Psychic-type

Not Very Effective Against:

  • Dark-type
  • Fairy-type

No Effect Against:

  • None

Vulnerable To:

  • Bug-type
  • Fairy-type
  • Fighting-type

Resistant To:

  • Dark-type
  • Ghost-type

Immune To:

  • None

It’s important to note that these weaknesses and resistances are based on the type matchups in the main series Pokémon games. However, the effectiveness of moves and types can vary depending on the specific game or battle format.

TypeWeak toResistantImmune

Note: The checkmark symbol (✔️) indicates weakness or resistance.

shows the types that Dark-type Pokémon are weak to and resistant to:

Weak to:

  • Bug-type
  • Fairy-type
  • Fighting-type

Resistant to:

  • Dark-type
  • Ghost-type

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top